An Experiment

The top 20 most played songs on my Creative Zen Micro mp3 player:

  1. Momma’s Boy by Chromeo
  2. Electric Feel by MGMT
  3. Sweet Disposition by The Temper Trap
  4. Sky by Joshua Radin
  5. Gravity by Sara Bareilles
  6. Paparazzi by Lady Gaga
  7. Fast Car by Tracy Chapman
  8. A Love Like That by The New Radicals
  9. Bonafied Lovin by Chromeo
  10. Sugar by Flo Rida
  11. Georgia by Hanson
  12. Ashes and Wine by A Fine Frenzy
  13. Best I Ever Had by Drake
  14. Do It by Nelly Furtado
  15. White Lies by My Dear Disco
  16. Brooklyn Girls by Charles Hamilton
  17. I’ll Be Your Man by The Black Keys
  18. One Crowded Hour by Augie March
  19. Sexual Eruption by Snoop Dogg
  20. Down With The Ship by The Damnwells

More than a few of these inspired blushing and giggles. Others brought me back to the exact times and places this year that I played these songs on repeat. But my taste in music may tell me more than how many times I’ve spit out the cheesy rhymes of Charles Hamilton.

According to a 2008 study, as discussed in an article from the BBC, the type of music we like says a good deal about our personalities. An affinity for pop and rap suggests high self-esteem. Liking some indie and some rock music is usually associated with creativity. And more outgoing people tend to jam to dance tracks.

I wonder if these personality traits hold true for others. Maybe this experiment will go viral, kind of like that annoying “25 Things You Don’t Know About Me” that circulated around Facebook earlier this year. Either way, I’d love to read  your lists of most played songs!

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Experiment

  1. clairehux says:

    Interesting… Very interesting. I didn’t think you would be into charles hamilton actually. Wow…

    I wonder how i’d do this, my musical tastes are weird and the way I listen even more weird. oh well…

    -DLake

  2. I need to listen to those songs.

    What about Jazz? what about people who are so eclectic as to not be able to be defined?

Leave a Reply

